Does the Thrown Property Mean I Can Attack with My DEX in D&D 5E?

In Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (D&D 5E), weapons with the "thrown" property can be thrown, granting a range advantage. However, the question arises: does this mean that attacks using these weapons can be made using the Dexterity (DEX) modifier instead of Strength (STR)?

The answer is no. Despite the thrown property, weapons still have a specific property indicating the ability modifier used for attacks: finesse or strength.

  • Finesse: Weapons with this property allow attacks to be made with either the STR or DEX modifier, at the player's choice.
  • Strength: Weapons with this property must use the STR modifier for attacks.

Throwing a weapon does not change its attack modifier property. Therefore, if a weapon has the strength property, throwing it still requires the use of the STR modifier for attack rolls.

  • Can you always use DEX to attack with thrown weapons? No, the attack modifier property of the weapon determines the modifier used, regardless of being thrown.
  • Does throwing a finesse weapon grant advantage? No, throwing a finesse weapon does not provide advantage unless the Dual Wielder feat is used.
  • Can you throw strength weapons farther than finesse weapons? Generally, no. The range of a weapon is determined by its range property, not its attack modifier property.
  • What other factors affect the range of thrown weapons? Proficiency in the weapon, feats like Sharpshooter, and abilities like Mage Hand can extend the range.
  • Are there any exceptions to the rule for thrown weapons? Yes, some specific weapons or magical items may have special rules that alter this principle.
  • Wilson Sporting Goods Featherlite Badminton Racket
  • Victor Thruster K 9 Badminton Racquet
  • Yonex VCore Pro 97 Tennis Racket
  • Babolat Pure Aero Tennis Racquet
  • Dunlop D600 Bandit Indoor Tennis Ball

Pre:Why wont my forearms grow
Next:What are some reasons why I feel like vomiting while I am eating

^